top of page
  • Writer's pictureyogawithcassie

Yoga for anxiety or anxiety in Yoga?!


What is Yoga for you and why did you find it or it find you? For myself, I found Yoga as I lost a piece of myself. I suppose in a way I was seeking. For what I'm unsure but the answers weren't coming in the regular more active HIT workouts I was so conditioned to do as part of my exercise routine and my usual hit of endorphins. I'd had some changes to my life, my friendships and my outlook and my mind was all over the place. I'd tried lots of different types of yoga over the years and nothing had resonated with me. As I started my research I was still conditioned to look for that very active type of practice and I managed to find an Ashtanga class not far from where I live. This Ashtanga class and the amazing teacher I met there along with a lovely new friend were a turning point for me. I found something in that Yoga class that not only made a change in me but also made me want to make a number of changes for myself. The journey had begun for me. The yoga classes I was starting to attend in different venues were really helping me find my balance in mind and body and they were pivotal in giving me some coping strategies for home, work and life. Today I can find those coping strategies in my own practice and breath work that I didn't have before or if I'm totally honest had no concept of. Since qualifying as a teacher I have been able to help a number of people find some space and calm using yoga and breath and I love that I can be a small part of their journey, to maybe help a little to give them some strategies and tools for their toolbox. It gives me a little something to be proud of and has worked to drive me further on my yoga path and training, expanding into Pre and Post Natal and Trauma sensitive Yoga, also working with those with drug and alcohol issues. However for me I'm at a point now where the anxiety creeps back in, I need to dedicate a little more time to me, to my practice and to my breath. The anxieties this time are different, they are more around my family and trying to establish a successful career as a Yoga Teacher. The business of Yoga can be a harsh world. I am regularly reading articles and posts from fellow teacher and those much more established that I that are still trying to find some balance and success in this yoga life. Yoga is a bit of a buzz word, people want to attend classes and reap the benefits that these amazing practices can help us with but aren't always willing to invest in themselves. Having hair blow dried or nails manicured can still be a priority over the physical and mental well-being. The conditioning of these external factors aren't there for everyone but I certainly find that self-care in the form of yoga isn't always a priority. (I can be as guilty of the next person of this..... Yoga teacher certainly doesn't equal the all knowing or the saint. Not in my life!) For me I suppose it is time to try and have a little faith in myself regardless of the path I take and to allow myself a little time on the mat and in meditation. I will, I believe, end up physically, emotionally and financially where I am supposed to be and until then I will keep on practicing. No doubt we will come back around to this topic and hopefully in the future I can share some tips. #yogaforanxiety #anxietyinyoga #yogalife #yogateacherlifestyle #selfpractice #whatdoyouneedtomakeyouhappy #traumasenstiveyoga #foreverlearning #yogabusiness #stressmanagement #breathwork #mentalhealth #anxiety #recovery #peaceofmind #sympatheticnervoussystem

167 views1 comment
bottom of page